Travel Theme: RED in Vietnam

Huc Bridge Over Hoan Kiem Lake, Hanoi, Vietnam

Hanoi is a vibrant city full of chaotic traffic and sights and sounds buzzing. The color red is prominent in so many places in this city. Peace surrounds the Hoan Kiem Lake where you can cross this gorgeous red bridge to visit the Temple of the Jade Mountain on an island.

Red Shutters at a Temple in Hanoi

Max at the Temple of Confucius in Hanoi, Vietnam

The Temple of Confucius also was a respite from the noise and bustle of the city. The amazing temples and gardens were a temporary haven in the middle of the exciting city.

Water Puppet Show in Hanoi

I loved the water puppet shows where the puppeteers stand in the water behind the backdrop. They move the puppets through the water on long poles.

7 Comments

  1. September 12, 2012 at 9:52 am

    Oh this brings back memories. You represented the color red well with these lovely photos. I love Hanoi and all its chaos and quiet temples, especially the Temple of Literature. Ironically, I will have a blog posted this week with a photo at the lake and a reference to going to the water puppet show. I don’t have a really good photo of that.

    • globalanni said,

      September 12, 2012 at 9:55 am

      Great I cannot wait to read it!

  2. Tom said,

    September 12, 2012 at 11:21 am

    Nice blog, Anni — and now: so colorful! My mother became enamored of “Chinese Red” (that’s what it said on the can) when I was a pre-teen. She painted *everything* Chinese Red, including my BB gun and a frightful amount of furniture. She had painted half of our piano when she finally lost interest. The piano was later sold and I saw it many years later at the county fair, still half red.

    • globalanni said,

      September 12, 2012 at 11:29 am

      I have had a few wall painted in that color! I don’t have any now in my latest house. I sort of miss it. Perhaps I will have to paint again when I move one in a few months. I love your blog. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. adinparadise said,

    September 12, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    Lovely red images. I really like that bridge. 🙂

    • globalanni said,

      September 12, 2012 at 10:21 pm

      Thanks! I love that bridge too. I must have 100 photos of it.

  4. caliroe said,

    September 20, 2012 at 2:14 pm

    Beautiful photos… I think the third one is especially cute! 😉


Leave a comment