Leaving HOME to go HOME

Global nomads, TCKs, and Expats all know the feeling of leaving your one home to go to your other home.  My family and I just made our annual trip of leaving our home in New Jersey, USA to come home to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. It never ceases to amaze me that no matter where I am, I always am missing something.

Things I miss about HOME in the USA:

  • Family and friends
  • Food-   real pizza, hoagies, American beef, Mexican
  • Road rules
  • Shopping in malls, Target, huge grocery stores and good shoe stores
  • The weather- no humidity and cool

Our Family at our beach in Ocean City, NJ

Kayaking in New York

 

Things I miss about HOME in Malaysia:

  • Friends
  • Food- satay, spicy noodles, curries
  • Not having to obey road rules
  • Shopping in markets and stalls
  • The weather- hot sunny days everyday

Petronas Towers in Kuala Lumpur

Rain Forest in Malaysia

 

I guess what is really strange is that the things I miss the most are the things that eventually drive me crazy and make me ready to return to the other home again for a dose of reality!!  I am so lucky to be able to call two amazing places “home!”

 

15 Comments

  1. M & J said,

    August 1, 2012 at 11:40 am

    Love it! Always nice to find fellow TCK types that ‘get it’!!

    Thanks for checking out “Memories on the Journey”, btw! Glad you liked it & hope you’ll join us again as we learn to love all the things about our HOME in Hong Kong… so far, we don’t miss the US yet, but give us a couple more years… 🙂 -jk

    • globalanni said,

      August 9, 2012 at 12:46 am

      Enjoy your time in Hong Kong!

  2. August 1, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    You spoke my mind! As a fellow TCK, I know that exact feeling of always thinking something’s missing….sigh.

    • globalanni said,

      August 9, 2012 at 12:47 am

      Right now I am missing my family!

  3. August 8, 2012 at 4:13 pm

    I couldn’t have wrote this any better myself… I know EXACTLY how you feel!

    • globalanni said,

      August 9, 2012 at 12:48 am

      I am sure you could have written it better because you are an amazing writer! 🙂 I do love to find others who think like I do and share similar feelings. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Marianne said,

    August 9, 2012 at 10:44 am

    That´s one of the fantastic benefits of having two “homes!”

    • globalanni said,

      September 12, 2012 at 9:57 am

      True. I am ever so lucky!!

  5. ilonca84 said,

    September 9, 2012 at 5:51 am

    That is so funny you mention that, I had this exact same feeling while I was traveling in Southeast Asia for a month. There were so many things I missed about my home in Portland, OR…..but now that I am back in Portland, OR I miss certain things of course that were wonderful in Southeast Asia. I guess that’s why it is most important to remember to enjoy the moment where ever we are, there is always something wonderful or new to take in. 🙂

    • globalanni said,

      September 12, 2012 at 9:58 am

      Well said. This is why I love to travel. I am always on the look out for something new to miss! 🙂

  6. September 13, 2012 at 12:19 pm

    I totally agree! Target and Mexican food are at the top of my list (after family and friends of course. 🙂 I also read your post about being in Thailand during the tsunami – that’s amazing. We had left Sri Lanka the day before the recent tsunami watch there and even that freaked me out. Definitely puts things in perspective.

    • globalanni said,

      September 14, 2012 at 3:18 am

      Thanks for stopping by. I love your blog. I am constantly reminded of how lucky I am to live this wonderful expat life and to have amazing experiences!

  7. ihp000 said,

    October 27, 2012 at 4:52 am

    I loved that – you miss road rules – and then you miss not having to obey them – fantastic.

  8. currybadger said,

    December 6, 2012 at 3:56 am

    Two homes is never a bad thing to have, especially on different sides of the earth.


Leave a Reply

