Weekly Photo Challenge: Summer- An Expat’s Life

Kayaking in the mountains of New York

Living overseas for a large portion of my life as a Third Culture Kid and now as an expat, summertime has always meant “going home” to see family and friends in the USA. The best time of the year! Summer means hiking and kayaking with my sister in NY, hanging out at my grandparent’s farm in Bucks County, PA and of course lazing at the Jersey Shore in Ocean City.

Climbing Bonticou Crag in New York

Summer at the Buck’s County Farm

Family- Summer at the Buck’s County Farm

Lifeguard Stand Ocean City, New Jersey

My family on the beach in OC, NJ

Corson’s Inlet Ocean City, NJ

I will be fortunate enough to spend another perfect summer with family in the tri-state area starting in a few weeks. (After traveling for about 40 hours.) I cannot wait to make some new memories. What do summers mean to you?

8 Comments

  1. expatlingo said,

    May 27, 2012 at 7:50 am

    I love expat “home-visit” summers. Feels almost like being a kid on school break. I’m counting the weeks until my own long summer trip home.

    • globalanni said,

      May 27, 2012 at 7:58 am

      I am a teacher so I always get my summer school break. 🙂 Being back with family just makes it so special!

  2. May 27, 2012 at 9:00 am

    Haven’t had a “summer vacation” in a while…love the photos of OC, NJ, brought back memories from my own childhood family vacations. Time for a road trip;o) Have a great summer!

    • globalanni said,

      June 10, 2012 at 1:28 am

      You too. Make the time for a vacation!! Road trips are the best.

  3. Jenny said,

    May 30, 2012 at 8:45 am

    Yes, the summer home leave is one of the joys of expat life. Hope you enjoy your time with family. Thanks for stopping by on my SITS day.

    • globalanni said,

      June 10, 2012 at 1:29 am

      We leave in a week so I am beyond excited. You are welcome. You have a Great site! Have a great summer vacation!

  4. June 2, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    I have a quilting email/penfriend who lives in Bucks County. I’m hoping to visit her one day soon.

    • globalanni said,

      June 10, 2012 at 1:30 am

      it is well worth the visit. Beautiful countryside and quaint towns. Enjoy it! Thanks for stopping by!


Leave a Reply

