Glamazons in Asia!

Most of the Asian women I know are about 5 foot and weigh about 90 pounds!  Their clothes size has to be a 0!  And they have no qualms about telling you how FAT you are!  Okay, I have been hashing (running, see my previous post) and dieting and trying really hard to get fit.  I have lost about 20 pounds and now fit into a decent size of clothing.  I would no longer have to shop in the “Plus” department in the USA.  I am by no means slim though.  And by Asian standards I am just enormously HUGE!  For the first year here my friends and I called ourselves the giant white ladies.  However that was not very politically correct so one of them coined the phrase that we now like to call ourselves, “Glamazons!” 

 

I walk every morning as does most of our neighborhood.  You will see the people out in the street walking, running and performing some very strange stretches and exercises.  Huge groups of people do Tai Chi and yoga.  We pass the same people everyday and we nod, smile or say hello.  Most of them we do not know personally, but that does not stop them from making comments about our HUGE size! One older lady in particular usually likes to comment on our sizes on a daily basis.  One day after saying hello for a week or so she passed us and said to me, “Wow, you so plump lady!” Brian and I almost fell over!  When we came back from our USA holiday, the same lady told Brian who is 6 foot and 165 pounds, “Oh, what happened to you, you so fat now!”  Luckily this lady has taken note of my now trimmer figure and told me that now I am getting sexy so Brian should NOW be “a so happy man!” 

 

One of our local friends was warning us of the dangers of being pick pocketed downtown.  The gentleman turned to the friend who named us the Galmazons and said to her, “You won’t have to worry because you are so enormous they would be afraid of you!” One of my friends was told not to bother to look in one woman’s shop because she was too fat!  And one of our PE coaches who is about 5’6” and a size 4 was told by a shop owner, “OH you so fat lah! You no fit into my shirts! You go now!”  

 It is amazing to walk down the street and have a stranger say to you, “OH what happen to you?  You must be rich lady! You so fat LAH!”  At times I feel the power of Moses as I walk down the street with a few girlfriends who are all tall, beautiful and wear sizes of 10 -14 and be able to part the crowds while people stand with their mouths gaping open!  Now that my shape is changing, my maid feels free to tell me every morning whether I am looking sexy or fat in that outfit!  She usually tells me, “Oh mam, before you so fat, but now you look sexy type!”  I am so pleased that she approves! 

 

Part of me craves the correctness of manners that I am used to in the USA.  Nobody would dare comment on your size- even if you asked them for an opinion.  I like to think that it is my personal will power that has helped me to get fitter since I moved here.  However,  I am sure the fact that the locals feel free to tell me that I look bad has had a huge impact on my image of myself!  Don’t worry though, I am still the self assured person you all know and love and I am sure that I am in no danger of becoming a 90 pound size 0 wearing woman anytime soon! I love being a GLAMAZON!!!

 The GLAMAZONS!

5 Comments

  1. lillian said,

    June 14, 2007 at 12:25 am

    Thanx for tip…. keep walking and more power to you 🙂

  2. Preya said,

    June 16, 2007 at 7:56 pm

    I’m of average height in the US, and I wear a pretty “small” size, but even I feel very large in Asia. I grew up being called “beo” (fat) in Vietnam; no wonder I have poor self-image!

  3. Nina said,

    June 18, 2007 at 4:00 am

    A lot of people find it extremely odd that I’m Asian and I’m 5’11” and they don’t seem to stop themselves from making comments. Even when I’m just walking down the street. Complete strangers would be shouting out all sorts of comments.

  4. globalanni said,

    June 20, 2007 at 2:42 pm

    Well the good news is that I can fit into a size 12 again! The bad news is, I could only find one shop that sells a size 12! I had to go into the back of the shop and into the “Women’s Plus” section to find the sizes 10, 12, and 14!!! So much for not having to shop in the plus section anymore! I am excited and awaiting the arrival of my mother, father and 2 nephews from the States. Mom is bringing me some new fashionable shoes in Sasquatch size! I can’t wait!

  5. khailee said,

    March 6, 2008 at 5:06 am

    hey anni, what positive attitude!

    the glamazons look like a fun bunch, too. u girls seem quite social.. was wondering what would be your reactions to this expat activity site http://kl.expatpool.com . the expats on my team (at work) started it specifically for expats who love meeting people and doing new things (like the glamazons?)

    we opened it up yesterday and our expat friends are telling us how they feel… personally im not an expat myself – n im not sure if it’ll turn into the super useful site my friends imagine it to be.. but id love to hear what you think 🙂

    well thanks in advance if u get to give it a test-drive… n let me kno if there’s anything i can do for you in return… keep up the positive attitude!!!!

    khailee


Leave a Reply

